India has long history of the Cricket. But there are few captains who have captained the Indian side to famous victories that changed the face of Indian Cricket.

Successful Captains of Indian Cricket Team:

1. Ajit Wadekar
Ajit Wadekar made his debut in the year 1966 against West Indies in Mumbai. Under his captaincy India recorded their first overseas series win. The side won the series against West Indies and then against England. In a career of over 8 years this aggressive left handed batsman made some important runs for the team. He is said to be one of the best Number 3 batsman in Indian Cricket and equally fine slip fielder.

2. Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev Nikhanj is undoubtedly the one of the best all rounder in the world cricket. As far as Indian team is considered Indian team is still not being able to find a suitable replacement for Kapil. Kapil Dev made his debut against Pakistan in the year 1978. He was voted as India’s Cricketer of the Century in the year 2002. Indian has won only one world cup till date and that was achieved under the leadership of Kapil Dev in the year 1983. He is the only player in the world to have scored over 5000 runs and 400 wickets in the test cricket.

He lead India to few of the biggest victories. After leading the side to world cup, Kapil lost the captaincy in early 1984 to Sunil Gavaskar. He regained it in March 1985 and guided India on a Test series win over England on their tour in 1986. He led Indian team in 1987world cup as well. It was during this period that the world saw one the second Tied Test in Chennai against Australia in which he was named joint-man of the match along with Dean Jones.

3. Sunil Gavaskar

Sunil Manohar Gavaskar is the legend in the Indian Cricket. He is attributed to hold the record of the most 100s in the test cricket until very recently which was broken by Sachin Tendulkar. He was the first batsman in the world to score over 10000 runs in the test cricket. Sunil Gavaskar took the captaincy fron Kapli Dev in the year 1984.

He led to the very famous win in the Benson and Hedges cup in Australia in the year 1985. He earned respect and taught his team-mates the virtue of professionalism. It is very true that the self-actualisation of Indian cricket began under him.

4. Mohammad Azharuddin

Sourav Ganguly is the most successful captain in the Indian Cricket History. He took the captaincy from Sachin Tendulkar and at the time when the allegations of match fixings were looming over the Indian Cricket. He built a new team backing the youngsters and led the side to the finals of the world cup in 2003.

He is undoubtedly the best left handed batsman India has ever produced with over 10,000 runs in One Day and 6000 runs in the test cricket. He brought the aggression and gave the new look to Indian team. He was sacked after the fall out with the coach Greg Chappell.

Ganguly remained in few controversies but was liked and admired by the team mates and fans all across the world. He also drew the series in Australia in the year 2003-04. He captained India in 49 test matches off which India won 21 and lost 13. Out of 21 matches India won 7 on foreign soil. Out of 146 one day under his leadership, India won 76 matches.